New additions to the Cool Free Software page

Today I added a few additions to my Cool Free Software page.  Each of them is powerful, easy to use, and of course free.

First up is AVGO Free DVD Ripper which easily rips DVD to AVI, MP4, MKV, H264, iOS and Android.   I’ve been using this to rip DVDs for my Nook HD and these little babies have turned my bus commute into New York into something that I almost wish were longer.  It might not be the fastest, but it certainly is the most consistent.  So far I haven’t found a DVD it couldn’t rip.

Next is Handbrake, a tool for converting video from nearly any format to a selection of modern, widely supported codecs.  I was really a bit late to the party with this one as many people I know have used this for some time.  When I started watching movies on the bus I had a selection of older movies already on my PC but not in a format compatible with my Android tablet.  No worries.  I downloaded this little puppy, selected a suitable output option and was fixed up in no time.
Have a lot of files to convert?  No problem, it has a batch mode so you can leave it running all night.

dupes

Finally we have Auslogics Duplicate File Finder.  You know how it is.  You copy files around, make backups, move things and suddenly your find yourself running out of disk space and you have no idea why.  This great little tool scans your PC and locates file duplicates.  What makes this special is that it doesn’t just do it based on the file names as some do, this tool actually compares the file contents to guarantee that the files are the same.  I won’t tell you how much space this recovered for me because it’s embarrassing.

Give these tools a try.  I’m sure you’ll find them as useful as I have.

Leave a comment

Filed under Computers, Free Software

Leave a Reply

